Question of the week: spaghetti bolognese alternative

Standard

Gene, a mom of three, wants to know if there is a healthy version to her favorite: spaghetti bolognese.

When I make spaghetti bolognese, I usually use whole-wheat or quinoa spaghetti. I saute a big onion until it’s translucent, then add tofu crumbles (I love “Boca” but “Morning Star” is also a good option); next I add a jar of tomato sauce (I use one with all-natural ingredients – I don’t always have time to make it from scratch). You can also put a little grated parmesan on top.

I find that both the flavor and texture are very similar to spaghetti bolognese and this is also a very quick dish. You can serve it with a green salad.

Send your questions to maytal@mamashealthybites.com

Leave a Reply

