Link of the Week: Best & worst Sweeteners

Standard

Here is a very informative article. While I certainly agree with the part about the bad sweeteners, I have to challenge the part about the good sweeteners. First of all, you have to be really careful with sugar alcohols – they never agree with me so I stay far away from them. Raw honey may have antioxidants, but carbs are carbs and while my kids can consume a high amount of them, I have to be picky about where I get my carbs, so I skip honey when possible and substitute with stevia. The same goes for blackstrap molasses – fine for my kids (and my husband who can tolerate high amounts of carbs without gaining weight), but bad for those who are watching their caloric intake.

 

Leave a Reply

