Stir-Fried Rice and a Realization

Standard

Today I realized two things:

1. Today marks four months since launching my blog.

2. All these months have passed without me writing about a dish I make about once per week.

It turns out I’ve been busy writing recipes for food that I love and think other people would love, and all this time, under my nose, was a great, simple dish that has ironically become invisible because of the frequency in which I make it. So, without further ado, allow me to present a delicious, healthy, quick dish that is now a staple in my family:

Stir-Fried Rice

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped
2 tsp garlic paste
2 lbs. frozen veggie mix, thawed (I used a mix of peas, corn, lima beans, carrots and green beans)
A few pinches Italian Seasoning herbs blend
Salt to taste

2 tbsp canola oil
1.5 cups (dry) brown rice, cooked according to instructions (I use a microwave rice cooker)

Directions:

Spray nonstick wok with cooking spray. Add onion. When onion is transparent and slightly brown lower heat to minimum and add garlic paste. Mix well.

Add the veggie mix and the Italian Seasoning, mix well and turn heat up to medium.

Add a little water if necessary and salt to taste. Stir occasionally.

When veggies are soft remove from heat and transfer into serving bowl.

In a different pan heat the canola oil and add the cooked rice. Stir quickly for 30 seconds.

Remove from heat and add to serving bowl, mixing well with the veggies.

This dish is great with tofu steak. I have a recipe here at the bottom of the page.

Leave a Reply

