Product of the Week: Trader Joe’s Red Pepper Spread

Standard

I’m always on the lookout for something healthy to spread on my sandwiches, my wraps and my rice cakes. That’s why I got excited when I tasted Trader Joe’s Red Pepper Spread with Eggplant and Garlic. Red pepper is a huge boon of antioxidants, including beta carotene and my love for eggplant has already been made known. I was surprised at how little of the eggplant I tasted – it really is mostly peppers in there – but I was even more surprised at the slight spiciness and tang. Apparently there’s a little hot pepper somewhere in there and as you know, a little goes a long way. I put the spread on a wrap with broccoli slaw and hard cheddar goat cheese and thought it was a delicious and exciting combination, not to mention healthy. The spread has only 15 calories per tablespoon, 0.5 grams fat, 1 gram carbs and is also low in sodium. It’s a perfect spread when you want to mix things up and still get all the benefits of healthy eating.

Disclosure: I was not paid, nor did I receive any gifts to recommend these. I am not affiliated with the company in any way. All opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

