Product of the Week: Kedem Gefilte Fish

Standard

Tonight is the first night of Passover, as well as the beginning of a long week of having to eat certain foods, avoiding certain foods and pretending to enjoy certain foods. One food I don’t have to pretend to enjoy is gefilte fish, but I usually try to limit the amount I eat to only during the two seders because of all the unhealthy added ingredients, namely the matzoh meal. A few weeks ago I was at Stop N Shop and boy was I glad to find gefilte fish with no Matzoh meal! Not only that, but Kedem Gefilte Fish also does not contain egg yolk and msg. Each piece is 100 calories, 5 grams fat, 8 grams protein and 3 grams carbs. Unfortunately sodium is a whopping 470 mg and cholesterol is 25 mg, which is one of the reasons I only eat gefilte fish on holidays and special occasions. But when you’re a pescetarian, gefilte fish is a reasonable protein choice at the seder and can also be a fantastic addition to a garden salad. Just make a quick salad with some chopped veggies (lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, etc.) and have two pieces of gefilte fish on the side. During the coming week, I plan on  alternating this with tuna salads. There. Lunch during Passover week is solved.

Disclosure: I was not paid, nor did I receive any gifts to recommend these. I am not affiliated with the company in any way. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

