NYC Show Review: Pippi Longstocking at the Swedish Cottage Marionette Theater

Standard

pippi_and_animals_1_hi-resMy six-year-old daughter loves to read and I am having so much fun introducing her to all of my childhood book heroines. Pippi Longstocking, the spunky, unconventional readhead, is one of my favorites. I’ve often wondered why I never saw too many live shows and tv shows dedicated to her, as she is a role model many young girls can relate to. This is why I was so excited to find out that the Swedish Cottage Marionette Theater in Central Park is holding performances of the show until June!

I recently attended the show with my kids and we all loved it! The plot was similar to the book: Pippi lives with no parents, but has a pet monkey and a horse. She has a variety of adventures; She helps a boy who is being bullied and outsmarts robbers who come to steal her money. She always finds creative solutions to problems and is very resourceful. My kids’ eyes were glued to the stage as they watched the colorful marionettes which the puppeteers expertly worked to create life-like movements.

At the end of the show the puppeteers came out from backstage and explained how the marionettes work, which was interesting even for the adults.

The best part was seeing my kids’ faces as they learned about this brand-new character that I knew as a kid. I am looking forward to reading the book to my kids.

Pippi! is playing until June 23rd, 2013. The show is about one hour long.

When: Tuesday – Friday 10:30AM and 12:00PM
Additional show on Wednesdays at 2:30PM
Saturdays & Sundays 1:00PM

**Note: Special schedule on below dates**

Winter recess schedule – February 19,20,21,22 -11:00am, 1:00pm, 3:00pm show on Wednesday.
Spring recess schedule – April 2,3,4,5 – 11:00am, 1:00pm, 3:00pm show on Wednesday.

Where: The Swedish Cottage Marionette Theater is located at Central Park, just south of the Delacorte Theater. Click here for directions and here for a map.

How Much: $8 per adult; $5 per child under 12. Reservations are required. Click here to order tickets.

Photo credits: Elaine Criscione, The Best of Times

I was not compensated for this post. I received tickets to the show.

Leave a Reply

