Giveaway: 15 Songs Every Kid Should Know (and Will Love!) CD

Standard

coverforweblowres_edited_1_grande

Music is a great way to learn about culture and in America, music is as eclectic as its culture. In “15 Songs Every Kid Should Know (and Will Love!)” the 15 songs are a compilation of many songs that kids already know, and if they don’t they really should. More than that, all of these songs are renditions that are unique, such as Jazz, Folk, Bluegrass and Soul; this not only introduces children to our multifaceted culture in America but also gives them a taste of a huge variety of music.

“15 Songs Every Kid Should Know (and Will Love!)” is a collaboration between award-winning children’s musician and certified music therapist Jeffry Friedberg and over 40 musicians. These musicians, each with a distinct style, have created songs that are fun not only for kids, but also for adults. When you think about it, how many times can you listen to “Wheels On the Bus”? If it’s set to the beat of African Drums (and features the angelic voices of the kids of the Montessori Center of Nyack) I bet you’ll want to hear it more than once. And you’ll probably find it hard to resist to sing along to a Cuban version of “Old McDonald”…

I recently received the CD for review and was a little surprised I didn’t know all of the songs, as they are all childhood classics. I thought my kids wouldn’t know them either, but my 4-year-old son immediately said, upon hearing “Shoo Fly” that it’s a song they have at his daycare birthday parties. My kids are not exposed very often at home and elsewhere to Cajun, Roots and Funk so I was curious to see how they’d react to hearing these versions to songs they love. They had a lot of fun dancing to them and even sang along to some. My personal favorite are New Orleans funkified “Itsy Bitsy Spider” and “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad”, especially with Lynn Stein’s velvety voice. The final song, “Froggie Went a Courtin'” features almost everybody and is really fun to dance to!

1692You can listen to all of the songs here. Visit the website www.15songseverykidshouldknow.com for “behind the scenes” videos from the recording sessions, background info on the songs, lyrics, activity suggestions and guitar lessons.

You can purchase the CD here for $15.

GIVEAWAY:

Congratulations to Sara Estep for winning the giveaway!

One lucky winner will win a copy of the CD.

To enter the giveaway leave a comment telling me what is one of your favorite childhood songs.

For extra entries:

Follow me on twitter and leave a separate comment you did so. https://twitter.com/MamasBites

Follow my blog via email and leave a separate comment you did so.

Contest ends June 24, 2013 at midnight. US residents only, 18 years or older. Winner will be informed via email. Winner will be picked by Random.org

Good luck!

I was not compensated for this post. I received a sample.

10 responses »

  1. As a child, I loved a song called ” How Much Is That Doggy in the Window.” I think it is suitable to the creative and whimsical style that you achieve on your CD.

  2. My favorite childhood song is “If you’re happy and you know it”. I love to be a happy positive person.

  3. Hokey Pokey song was one of my favorite songs. What’s not to love with all the body gestures and twirling! 🙂

  4. Old Mc Donald was one of my favorite songs although I pretty much loved any children’s song!! My son seems to love music too and love Old Mc Donald as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

